Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Powertech Sump Pan
10-26-2014, 20:29 (This post was last modified: 10-27-2014 13:40 by travelite.)
New Powertech Sump Pan
I had an unusual failure recently. I'm new to air bag suspended generators. I've never played around with the two pressure regulators feeding air to the fore and aft air springs, but someone must have. I arrived at my bus some time ago to find a puddle of oil on the floor under the generator. Seems I've been driving with very little air pressure in the front air bags. In addition, the rubber bump stop mounted to the floor of the enclosure and designed to support the engine sump pan had sheered off. This allowed the oil drain petcock to rest firmly against the enclosure tray. I guess over the miles the force and vibrations were too much for the welded on sump pan threaded bung. The weld attaching the threaded bung to the sump cracked and began leaking! The sump pan has to come off to repair the weld. Odd failure! I now know to pay particular attention to the pressure in those air bags and to make sure the resting rubber bump stops are in place and secured properly! This is my first mess-up with this bus!
İmage İmage

As you can see, Vantare didn't mount the genny on a sliding tray, so how am I going to get the damaged sump pan off? I'd like to insert a jack under the sump, disconnect the fore air springs, lift the front of the generator, and crib under the air spring mounts to gain access and clearance to all the sump pan bolts. Here's the low profile jack I found; it's a Mat Jack 1, max air pressure is 120 psi. It can lift 1.5 tons to a height of 2.5 inches. It's deflated height is 3/4":
İmage İmage